Government Updates

In November 2016, Community Services Ministers around the country committed to prioritising permanency for Australia’s children and young people. 

Since 2017, Adopt Change has been keeping this topic on the national agenda, inviting all Ministers and government representatives to provide yearly updates on their plans and the progress made in their jurisdictions since their commitment. See below the updates for 2021.

Hon. Michelle Landry MP
Federal Assistant Minister for Children and Families Australian Government
Hon. Linda Burney MP
Shadow Minister for Families and Social Services, Shadow Minister for Indigenous Australians, Member for Barton
Hon. Alister Henskens
Minister for Families, Communities and Disability Services
Hon. Sarah Courtney
Minister for Children and Youth
Hon. Simone McGurk MLA
Minister for Child Protection; Women’s Interests; Prevention of Family and Domestic Violence; Community Services

 Hon. Rachel Sanderson
Minister for Child Protection
Hon. Rachel Stephen-Smith
Minister for Health; Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs; Children, Youth and Families
Hon. Kate Worden
Minister for Territory Families and Urban Housing, Minister for Disabilities, Sport and Multicultural Affairs

Tim Crosier
Branch Manager of Children’s Policy
– Australian Government Department of Social Services
Julieanne Davis 
Executive Director Clinical Practice and Professional Services Department of Territory Families, Housing and Communities
Mark Burgess
Caretaker (Executive Director) Specialist Child Protection Unit at Department of Communities

Noel Fittock
Principal Practice Manager, Children Youth and Families, Communities Tasmania
Zoë Robinson
Advocate for Children and Young People
Colin Pettit
Commissioner for Children and Young People

Simone Walker
BranDeputy Secretary, Strategy, Policy and Commissioning at Department of Communities and Justice
Richard Weston
Deputy Children’s Guardian for Aboriginal Children and Young People
Shane D Wilson
Director, Children, Families, Communities and Disability – Department of Families, Fairness and Housing